Wings for Life World Run

On May 4, 2014, the world will run for those who can’t in the inaugural Wings for Life World Run. Almost 40 races will take place simultaneously on six continents with thousands running to support the Wings for Life mission of finding a cure for spinal cord injury. Runners in some countries will be running from dawn to dusk while others will be racing from dusk to dawn. Three of these races will take place within the United States – Sunrise, Fla. at 6 am ET; Denver, Col. at 4 am MT; and Santa Clarita, Calif. at 3 am PT.

“I’m inspired by the Wings for Life World Run and what they are trying to accomplish, which is finding a cure for spinal cord injuries,” said gold medal Olympic skier Lindsey Vonn. “This is an opportunity for everyone to be part of a global race – and run for those who can’t.”

Unique Race Format: There is no specific distance and no static finish line. All participants globally will start at the exact same time (10 AM UTC) and begin the race on similar courses all over the world. Thirty minutes after the start a “catcher car” will start on course in pursuit of the runners. This “catcher car” is the moving finish line. Once the car catches a runner, his/her individual race is over and results will be marked by distance rather than time. The final male and female to be caught worldwide will be the Wings for Life World Run Champions. This race is truly for all runners no matter experience or ability.

For more information visit www.WingsforLifeWorldRun.com.

P-20140220-00007_HiRes JPEG 24bit RGB


Comments are closed.